Day One

So I finally got foot surgery done yesterday. I was suppose to have it done about two weeks ago, but two days before got a second opinion from a doctor who said I didn’t need it and so I went with that. However, things just continued to get worse when I would work out. My foot would ache every time I would run, which made running not fun. So then I went back and forth like a million times in my head about whether I should just still get it done or not. It was driving me crazy and I’m sure my friends and family too! Then about a week ago Saturday I woke up in the morning with such horrible pain that I couldn’t even sleep and was in pretty bad pain and could barely walk half the day, so that was pretty much the last straw and I got the surgery scheduled (again).

So today is day 1 of 28 of no running. Hopefully it wont be that bad. But am bummed that I now wont be doing a Crossfit competition that I had signed up for this weekend nor a 50 mile that I was signed up for at the end of the month. But life goes on. There will always be more races and competitions and the important thing is that I’m healthy. Running through pain (like injury pain) sucks anyways. But if things go really well with recovery then maybe I can head up to do the Bishop 50 mile in May. I love/hate that race so much. Its so hard and feel like I’m dying the whole time from the altitude and soft sand trail, but then I look up at the mountains and I’m like “OMG I love this so much!” and that puts me in a better mood. Or maybe Keys 50. That way I could get to go see my sister/bff Traci. So many choices. But this is all considering I am 100%.

So I’ve mentioned this before, but I started taking this natural food supplement called, Mila, and hoping it will help to speed some of the recovery up. Am also hoping it helps me not gain 20 pounds this month. I probably already gained 10 after Easter. That is an exaggeration. But I kinda feel like it. There was just way too much good food to limit myself. Anyways, so Mila is a special blend of chia seed that does all sorts of rad stuff. The 3 main things I have noticed are that it has helped a bit with recovery and inflammation and also helps me to stay hydrated throughout the day, which Im really bad about doing and finally I have definitely noticed that it keeps me full throughout the day and reduces sugar cravings. I love sweets. Like LOVE! But with Mila I totally have not been craving them as much as I normally do. So thats where the not gaining 20lbs part comes in. In addition to helping with those three things, it also helps to balance blood sugar, eliminate toxins, gives you more energy and fights free radicals. Seriously it’s like the best superfood out there. I have just been mixing into my water 2x a day, but you can also cook with it and it provides a great fat source or after workouts I have also sprinkled it over some fruit and honey and its really good that way too! If you are interested, let me know and I can tell you how to get it.

So that is basically what is going on for now. The next three days Ill be at home on the couch super busy watching the first season of Game of Thrones. And then maybe, MAYBE, if I have enough time I can start The Walking Dead too. So obviously lots of excitement going on around here. Maybe tomorrow I will even blog again! Or start a new book or play a board game with a friend… the possibilities are ENDLESS!!!!

One thought on “Day One

Leave a Reply

