Product Review: Injinji 2.0 line

So it may sound a little weird to get excited over socks, but trust me, the new Injinji 2.0 line is definitely worth getting excited about. Last week, I came home to an unexpected package from Injinji, which contained an assortment of different socks from their new line..

Now let’s go over why these socks are so great…

I’m sure a lot of you just think that they look cool. Well thats a given. If you’ve worn the socks in the past, you also probably thought that they would be great for blister prevention amongst your toes since each one is separated… and that is also true. However, did you also know that the socks not only look cool and prevent blisters, but they also help to properly align your toes, which helps with posture and balance? The body works as a kinetic chain, which means that all your muscles, joints, nerves, etc work together. You’re feet are obviously the first part of the body to make contact with the ground, so having issues with your feet could potentially cause problems to move upwards into your ankle, calves, knee, hips, etc. So be nice to your feet 🙂

Like I said, there are different socks for different purposes in the new 2.0 line. Ill start with the Run Performance 2.0. These socks are a bit more padded then the traditional Injinji socks, which I really like since I normally wear thicker socks when I run long. The heel also has slightly more padding and there is extra support on the arch area and metatarsal area that gives the socks a little more of a snugger fit, which I like as well. In addition, the socks have a mesh top to help your feet breathe better and finally there is a Lycra band with increased compression around the ankle to keep the sock in place and prevent it from sliding down. Seriously, when your socks slide down has to be one of the most annoying things ever. But down worry, these don’t do that! These socks are fantastic. I love them. The new spring/summer colors are really cute too. I have a pair or hot pink and blue ones.

The Trail Performance 2.0 socks have all of the same great qualities as the Run 2.0, however there is a double elastic cuff to go around the ankle to prevent dirt and small annoying rocks from getting in and to also keep your socks in place.

The Compression Ex-celerator 2.0 provide the benefits of the Run 2.0, however it seems like maybe slightly less padding, but also adds the benefit of compression. I am a big compression sock wearer. My calves get tight a lot and I’ve had issues with my popiliteous (muscle behind your knee), but found that wearing compression on my calves makes it feel much better. I definitely like 2.0 better than the previous Injinji compression socks. I feel like these ones give slightly more compression than the old ones, however aren’t TOO tight like other brands. Seriously, during races there have been times I can’t even get my compression socks on (or off after!) because they were too tight. Also the older version were just a tad bit too long for me. These ones are perfect and come in more exciting colors than black and white, such as purple, blue and pink 🙂

Finally, there is the Performance Yoga 2.0. These socks are a little bit thinner than the run socks and are also made with a cool, bamboo type of fabric, which makes them really soft. The bottom of the socks also have little grip thingies that help prevent you from slipping when holding your yoga pose. I’m not huge into yoga I’ll admit, but these socks are also great for stretching and for walking around the house in 🙂

If you are a runner, of any distance, I would definitely recommend these socks. They are also great for CrossFitting in as well. I feel more balanced, which is obviously important when lifting heavy! Injinji will have a booth at the following races this year, so if you will be attending any of them be sure to stop by check them out!

April 6: American River 50 Mile
April 12: Boston Marathon
June 1: San Diego RNR Marathon
June 8: San Diego 100 Mile
June 29: Western States 100
September 28: UROC 100k

 

2 thoughts on “Product Review: Injinji 2.0 line

  1. I fell in love with Injinji after my first 1/2 marathon, where I made the mistake of wearing another brands moisture wicking socks. By mile 8 I was DYING from huge blisters I could feel on the balls of my feet. Every step was painful and I could feel the liquid inside the blisters. Miles 9-13.1 (and the dreadful walk after) were done on the sides of my feet, which was painful and eventually jacked up my knees and hips. When I was finished and took the socks off, I had identical quarter-sized blisters on each ball of my feet just below where my big toe and second toe join. I tarted wearing Injinji after that ad have never looked back!

Leave a Reply

