28 Days

So after this Friday… no running or crossfit for TWENTY EIGHT DAYS! Seriously I am not happy about that. I have just finally started to feel in shape again with running and also have been crossfitting very well and now I have to put those two things on hold for a little bit.  However, what I am happy about is that I can get this stupid nagging foot injury finally fixed, which has been bugging me since last May. Over the past  8 or so months, I have been diagnosed with plantar, sinus tarsitis, a heel bruise and a stress reaction. Sometimes the pain is unbearable to run in and other times its really not bad and after my foot is warmed up, I can run without even feeling anything. Lately it hasn’t been horrible for the most part, but since I can still feel it, my podiatrist finally allowed me to get an MRI. Well turns out I do have plantar, severe planter actually, and also have joint effusion and 5 torn ligaments. Turns out to be worse than I thought it would be and I’m pretty surprised I was able to run two 135s and a 100 on that. Probably wasn’t the smartest move, but I had no idea. Anyways, so the podiatrist said that I need surgery or else since I already tore so many ligaments in my foot, the next thing to go is my achilles.. and thats no good.

Luckily, I was able to get surgery scheduled asap, which will be this Friday (which coincidently is also when my mom is having bunion surgery so we get to go together, yay!). Its really not even a surgery. There will be no incision and instead my doctor will use needles and some high tech stuff to repair everything. I was freaking the f**k out at first, because I have Badwater in a few months, but he reassured me that since there is no incision, I will heal quickly and Ill be up and running in a month. Had I only tore 1 ligament, I’d be running in 10 days, but I tore 5. Whoops.

Also, thankfully I will be able to workout a bit after 4 days of the surgery, I will just have to do so wearing a boot. So during the next month, I’m just going to become best friends with the airdyne bike so I can try and maintain some endurance and then do as many weights and core work as I can along as keep my diet absolutely as perfect as can be so that 1.) I don’t get fat and 2.) make sure I recover at top speed! I have started using this product called, Mila, which is a very high quality type of chia seeds that help to bring down inflammation and honestly I have already noticed reduced pain over the past couple weeks! After the 28 days I will be able to start running again. The first week back, I can do up to 25% of what I was doing before, 50% the second week and 100% back to normal the 3rd week.

I’m trying to keep my head up through all of this. Maybe the break from running will even be a good thing. Back in 2011 I remember I had to take at least a month break off running, maybe even 2 months, due to a bad piriformis injury. I started running again in March, PRd my marathon time by 9 min in May, PRd my 50k by almost an hour two weeks after that, placed 3rd in a 50 mile a week after that and then won a 100 miler in June, which was a 5 hour PR. So the rest thing seemed to work well for me so I’m REALLY hoping the same thing happens again for Badwater!

So running and crossfit, I will miss you these next few weeks, but at least I am going to get ripped from all the bench and bicep curls I will be able to do! See, there’s always a silver lining! 🙂

Leave a Reply

