Epic Training Weekend… Fail

This weekend was about a month out from out from Chimera 100 and so my goal was to try and get in a high mileage weekend in with long runs on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Things started off good on Friday, but then dwindled off on Saturday and Sunday, which I was actually more than fine with. I had a really fun weekend which totally made up for it.

So Friday started off with an 8.5 mile morning run in Aliso/Woods Canyon with Pam and Keira. We ran almost all single track trail and talked the whole time and it was so fun. After the run I had to drive out to LA to apply for Brazil visas for Mark and I at the Brazilian Consulate. Ok, so first of all, Mark thought that this was going to be the most complicated process ever. He told me he had friends who had applied for Visas in the past who had to apply like 3 times and got rejected. Mark always exaggerates stuff so I was determined to prove him that it wasn’t going to be that big of a deal. Unfortunately it did turn out to be kind of a crazy process, but it really should have been super simple. So to get a visa you have to pay with a postal money order. The day before I told Mark I was going to go to the post office to get our money orders. He laughed at me and said that the post office would laugh at me too if I asked them for a money order. I really hate when I’m wrong about something and he’s right and I get the “I told you so…”(and this happens about 80% of the time) so I just went to the bank and got a money order. So then on Friday when it was my turn to apply for the Visas, I went up to the window and had all of my needed items (paperwork, proof if residence, passport, money order) and assumed the process was going to be a cakewalk. Of course the lady told me that she couldn’t accept my money order and that she needed a postal money order. ARG! My heart sank. I really did not want to have to reschedule the appointment and have to drive all the way back up to LA and most importantly, have to admit to Mark that he was right and the process was super complicated. Fortunately though, the lady said that on the 7th floor of the building, I could get a postal money order. I was also lucky because there was a bank literally right across the street so I could cash the non-usable money orders to pay for the new ones. So I walked to the bank, got my cash and then went up to the 7th floor. No big deal. So then I go to pay for the new money orders and it turned out that I was $15 short, since they charge an extra $5 for each money order (I had to get 3 of them). Then I tried to pay the extra with my debit card, but of course they only accepted cash. So I had to walk back to the bank, take out more money, walk back up to the 7th floor and get my new money orders. Then go back to the Brazilian consulate and reapply for our Visas lol. So much back and forth stuff. Moral of the story… I’m not listening to Mark anymore.

On the way back home I got a call from my sister from another mister, Traci, who had just gotten off the phone with KARA GOUCHER (olympic marathoner!!!) who she got to interview for our blog, Grit, Guts and Glory. So freaking cool! Then when I got home I went on another 10 mile run, then went to the crossfit with Mark to do some core work, then taught a couple CF classes then finished up the evening with a sushi dinner with Mark. It was a long day!!

Saturday the goal was to get in another 20 or so miles. I had to teach one of our morning classes at CF though and by the time I got home and Mark and I headed out to the trails it was almost 11am. Mark had a ton of work to get done and was a bit stressed and so we ended up cutting the run way short and just went to the top of the silverado motor way and back down. I was totally fine with that and figured I could still get in a decent long run on Sunday. Then I spent the rest of the day putting together Mark and I’s costume for a party that we were going to later that night and I made a paleo pumpkin bread and cooked us dinner.

Later that night, Mark and I headed out to the Halloween party at my boss’s house. I dressed as a cheerleader and he dressed as the old creepy teacher/coach. We had a really fun time at the party, actually a little too much fun. I ended up drinking a bit too much and got sick. Blah. Literally…

Which then lead me to skipping my Sunday long run. I slept in until 9:30 and Mark and I had a lazy day around the house. We took the dog on a nice walk and watched Prometheus and that was pretty much it, but I completely enjoyed it. Sometimes its actually nice to be lazy and just relax together.

This evening we finished up our weekend by attending the R&D Team and Ambassador meeting at our local Lululemon store. I even got to see my friend, Amanda at the meeting, which was awesome because we have been trying to squeeze a workout in together lately but schedules keep on conflicting! The main focus of the meeting was goal setting and they had us break off into pairs and discuss goals with each other. Mark said his goal was to be a hip hop super star(doesn’t take this stuff too seriously). One of my goals is to start run coaching. I am actually super excited to start coaching my first runner, Virginia, for her first 50 mile race! As you know, I LOVE to run and so I am stoked to be able to help others achieve their running goals as well. If anyone else is interested in getting help with training for a race, shoot me an email at cdickrun520@hotmail.com.

So not exactly an epic running weekend, but I don’t care at all because I had so much fun doing other stuff. I think its good to have weekends like this though so running doesn’t always take over everything. Oh and to top off weekend, I even won a free haircut at the Aveda salon in a raffle at the Lululemon store.  Score!!

Leave a Reply

