Mt. Baldy!

So now that I got into the Brazil 135, I have 17 weeks to get myself in mountain running shape. The past 2 weeks my run training has consisted of didilly squat. I was burnt out and over trained and needed a break before things get serious again.

Since Brazil will have 30,000 feet of climbing, the goal is to start doing climbing, climbing, climbing and… MORE CLIMBING! Luckily by Sunday, I felt some of my energy and motivation was starting to come back and I was dying to go out into the mountains. Mark and I had planned on hiking Mt. Baldy. On Saturday we were all amped and saying ridiculous things like “hey lets get up real early and go hike.” The goal was to be out the door by 7am on Sunday. However, then 6am rolled around and the alarm went off. Mark tried to even woozle me out of the hike and asked if I wanted to go shopping instead. But no, I turned down shopping to go hike….. What kind of girl am I?!

So we didn’t end up getting our lazy butts out of the door until about 8:30, but at least we made it out. We actually started our hike exactly at 10am. The first 4 miles of the hike are kind of boring. Just fire road. Nothing spectacular. But then about half way up, you hit the ski lodge and from there its epic views all the way to the peak. It actually gets pretty sketchy for a while as the trail drops off on both sides of you. If you keep your eyes straight ahead its not so bad, but look to either side of you and your heart will start racing faster than it already is and you get a funky feeling in your stomach… at least thats how I felt. Then the last quarter to half mile is straight uphill, but then you’re at the top! 10,064 feet above sea level. Maybe no Everest, but not a bad hike for a Sunday afternoon!

We hung out at top for a tiny bit and ate some snacks and then headed back down a different way, which was a little shorter, but more single track and forest. Some parts were really steep and we both fell on our ass a couple times. Part way down some Asian lady stopped us to ask Mark where he was from. “Irvine.” “No, no, WHERE are you from?” “Slovenia.” Then she kept asking us how to say words in Slovenian. She kept talking and talking but Mark and I just went on with our hike. Mark tried to teach me some Slovenian, but I only remember “Thank you.” All you do is say “Nice driveway” with a European accent.

Even though the way back down was shorter mileage wise, I think it may have taken us longer than it took us to get up! We are not the best at technical stuff, but it was a good time. I was so happy to just get out and be in the mountains. I do really enjoy road running, but mountains and trail running is where my heart is.

So on a whole different topic… since I have been taking it easy with the running the past two months, I have been spending lots of time cooking (which Mark has been loving!). I am obsessed with Juli Bauer’s blog, http://www.paleomg.com. She has hands down the best recipes. She actually came down and spoke at a charity event that my gym hosted about a week ago and I was so stoked to actually meet her. After Baldy, I made Mark and I bison burgers with apple and bacon chutney. Pretty much the best fruit and meat combo ever. I have also been making things like Brazilian chicken curry, herb crusted salmon, lots of spaghetti squash (tonight I even made my own sauce!), and zucchini apple muffins. I am turning out to be quite the cook. And I say no to shopping to go hike all day in the mountains. And sometimes I clean too. I am quite the catch…

So this was pretty much the most interesting training event worth blogging about since Badwater. However, since Brazil training has now started, lots of epic stuff is going to go down. So stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

