Badwater

I seriously can’t believe it has been a week since I toed the start line for the Badwater Ultramarathon. What a crazy, crazy experience. I still have conflicting thoughts about the race. One part of me can’t believe that I actually did the race. Badwater is suppose to be “The race of Champions.” I’m just a 24 year old girl who really loves to run… to the point of complete exhaustion. But a champion? Nah. So it was very surreal for me to even be standing at the start line with so many world class ultra runners. However on the other hand… I very much remember almost every detail of the race… which means it definitely was not a dream (and I also have a pretty awesome belt buckle to prove it!). It has also been somewhat strange to walk by people during the last few days who are doing their normal, everyday thing. All I can think is, “I bet they have no idea what so ever what I just did.” lol. Its kind of an awesome feeling 🙂

So as you can clearly gather… I finished the Badwater Ultramarathon. My goal was sub 40 hours and I nailed it in 38 hours and 53 minutes. I seriously have never been so proud of myself. I fought really hard for that finish. Of course, I would not have been able to do it without the help of my crew. I got REALLY lucky with my crew. Badwater is definitely not a solo effort. So thank you to my crew… Traci, Jana, Nick, Derek, George and of course, my mommy… I will never forget the time I spent with you guys out in that desert. You guys managed to get me to the finish line in under my goal and also make me laugh my ass off while at it. I seriously have never had so much fun, while doing something so tough! And also… what happens in the moun-ains, stays in the moun-ains!

I also have to thank my coach, Lisa Smith-Batchen. She is the most incredible woman I have ever met. If any of you readers are looking for a coach, she is the woman to go to. Everything about her is awesome… she is knowledgeable, inspiring, kind, beautiful and one TOUGH lady! I know I have mentioned this before, but she has completed this race NINE times! After going though the race once, I gained even more respect for the lady, which I didn’t even think was possible! Without her help, I don’t know how I would have gotten through the race. I felt so confident going into the race because of her training program and because of it, there was never a second in the race where I didn’t think I would finish. Sure it got tough, but I was tougher, because of her. Love you Lisa!

Thank you as well to my boyfriend, who finished his second Badwater this year! He came in 5th in a time of 26 hours and 24 minutes. Mark, you are always an inspiration to me and make me want to push myself harder. Plus, you make for an awesome training partner. I love you.

And of course, thank you to Genr8 and Fein. Both of the products were hugely important to  my race. I drank a full serving of Vitargo about every 3-4 miles and had ZERO stomach issues and ZERO bloating… at Badwater… thats pretty freaking cool. Fein helped to keep me awake through the night and most of day two. Combine the two products and magic happens…

Here are some pretty awesome pictures that were shot by my twin sister, and photographer, Traci Phillips. We were separated at birth but found each other… like a Tia and Tamara kind of deal.

 

 

One thought on “Badwater

  1. Nice work Alexa, not many people will really understand what it took; but that’s ok too.. 🙂
    Great Great Job.

Leave a Reply

