Things that happen during a taper

With a week to go until the big day, I am definitely in taper mode, which means I get to find other activities to do to replace the hours that I usually spend training each day. This past week these activities consisted of:

1. Flying up to Bend, Oregon to meet Mark’s dad and then driving a BMW convertible that he gave to Mark back down to Orange County. It took us 15 hours and some of us may have gotten a bit cranky. But at least it was a pretty drive.

2. Shopping! I cant even tell you the last time I went shopping for real girl clothes. Its been a long time. My drawers are stuffed with more Lululemon workout wear than actual clothes. So I got some dresses and a couple cute tops. Of course I got some new Lulu items for Badwater as well.

3. A pedicure! Again… I cant remember the last time I have had one of these.  Too bad my toes will only remain pretty for a week though. And please don’t make fun of my rather large big toes. I got enough teasing in high school.

4. Trying new recipes… Last night I decided to jazz up some salmon by topping it off with a peach/avocado salsa that I made and with roasted butternut squash on the side. It was pretty bomb. Recipe can be found below.

5. Watching movies.. This past week we watched Animal House, which is always funny. Then We Need to Talk About Kevin, which was not funny and quite depressing, but a good movie and on my list of books to read. Then to lighten the mood we watched Dazed and Confused.

5. Starting a new book. I love to read, especially adventure books. Sure, I read 50 Shades of Gray and I loved it (remember I am a girl), but usually I hate romance novels. They make me cringe. I much rather prefer novels based on true accounts that are related to running, hiking, cycling, etc. Or thrillers or books that are just far out there like Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas or almost anything by Stephen King. Yesterday, I started the book, Hell on Two Wheels, which is about the Race Across America (RAAM). Reading about others who push themselves to the limits gets me going and even more excited for an upcoming race. RAAM is freaking hardcore too. I basically feel like a giant pansy compared to those cyclists. I have a hard enough time staying up a full day and the top guys manage to cycle across the entire United States in about 9 days while only averaging about an hour of sleep a night. Nuts.

Other good reads I recommend to endurance athletes during a taper are:

The Long Walk, by Stephen King
Shattered Air, by Bob Madgic
A Few Degrees from Hell, by Scott Ludwig
The Hunger Games (but who hasn’t read that)
Last Breath, by Peter Stark

If anyone else has some good recommendations, please share!

So that is basically what goes on during a taper. There was also some running and cycling thrown in there. This weeks agenda is…. PACKING! I hope I don’t miss anything. I suck at packing. On our trip to Oregon I forgot a hair brush. When I went to Palm Springs I forgot shirts. But don’t worry, I made a list, sent it to coach Lisa, and will have mom double check everything!

Anyways, hope everyone else who is running Badwater is also having a splendid taper!

Oh! Also check out some interviews that I am in on the Ultra Chicks Unite website! One interview is on the 18 women who are running Badwater this year and the other is about Mark and I both competing in the race this year.This website rocks. It is all about inspiring female ultra runners and I am so happy that I got to be a part of it!

http://www.ultrachicksunite.com

And here is the salmon recipe:
Serves 2
Ingredients:
2 pieces Salmon
2 peaces, diced
1 avocado, diced
1/2 jalapaneo, seeds removed and diced
juice of 1 lime
1 clove garlic, minced
1 bunch of cilantro, chopped
salt to taste

Directions:
1. Cook salmon over low heat in a covered pan for about 8-9 minutes
2. Mix all other ingredients in a bowl
3. When salmon is done, top it with mixture
4. EAT!

3 thoughts on “Things that happen during a taper

  1. Alexa you are going to do awesome! Just take it easy in the heat and you will be rewarded late in the race. A 20 minute nap at Father Crowley did me wonders. We will be cheering you on next Monday!

  2. Good luck! Was checking out who’s racing this year and was surprised to see someone from Irvine! What’s up I-Town! Have a great race 🙂

Leave a Reply

