Big Badwater News!

There is only about two and a half months until my adventure from Death Valley to Mt. Whitney begins and it seems that everything is falling into place better than expected. Some big things are happening with this race that I am very very excited about!

First of all, I got myself a coach! I am thrilled to start running under the guidance of Lisa Smith-Batchen. Lisa is very experienced when it comes to Badwater. Not only has she helped numerous individuals make it to that Mt. Whitney portal finish line, she has also ran the race herself nine times and won twice! She has also ran 50 miles in all 50 states in only a span of 62 days, won the Marathon des Sables and competed in numerous other stage races, ultras and triathlons. Her racing resume is stacked full of incredible accomplishments. She is very knowledgeable in the world of coaching and ultrarunning and am very excited to see what the results of her knowledge and my hard training efforts will bring at this years Badwater race.

Next in exciting news… I have decided to run for the Dreamchasers Foundation as my charity for Badwater. The Dreamchasers Foundation was set up by Lisa and her dear friend, Sister Marybeth in 2008 in order to help raise awareness of the hunger, exploitation, illness and suffering of children around the world. The money raised through the foundation helps to distribute funds to help women and children to survive and succeed, improve their quality of life and help provide for a better future. Since Lisa herself will not be running Badwater this year, I am very pleased to help carry the torch for her cause. Running for a cause bigger than the race itself is truly a motivating factor and I am looking forward to be helping out as much as I can with this charity to help those less fortunate than I am.

I am working on setting up my webpage for donations and so I will be posting sometime soon here on my blog and Facebook page. For more info on the Dreamchasers Foundation please visit http://www.runhope.com or dreamchaserevents.com

Also, for anyone else who is interested in the coaching services of Lisa, she also puts on very well organized training camps throughout the year located in the stunning Tenton Valley in Idaho, where she also race directs a 50 and 100 mile races. Her next one up is June 12-16 and is an all women’s camp and is packed with runs, hikes, clinics and other fitness classes. If you are interested please check them out at http://www.dreamchaserevents.com/camps/schedule.

So those are my two pieces of big news.. at least for now! Will post more updates as they come.

Leave a Reply

